Video: Making Egyptian Faience

(I’m sorry, the video doesn’t work anymore, but there are a few resources listed in the comments below. The percentages given in one of those papers does not have enough flux. It should be closer to 10%. Start lower than that, and slowly add more to your recipe until you get the level of gloss that you want. Don’t go overboard or your art will melt! The video showed them using gum arabic as a binder. I’ve had better luck using no binder at all because it can get sticky. It doesn’t work like clay, though some people like to add clay to it. The earlier methods didn’t appear to use it. Experiment and have fun! And don’t forget your mask! Breathing fine silica dust is bad for your health.)

Ooh pretty! This is definitely on my wish list!

Does anyone have any experience with ceramics who could comment on this? It’s a shame they didn’t include the actual recipe here.

4 thoughts on “Video: Making Egyptian Faience

  1. shezep says:

    I found a source for the recipe here: Nicholson, Paul. (2009). Faience Technology. UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology, 1(1). nelc_uee_7930. Retrieved from: http://escholarship.org/uc/item/9cs9x41z

  2. […] the pond is done, I can move on to the next project. I finally ordered my kiln! Learning to make Egyptian faience is my next project. They didn’t have electric kilns back then. Once again, if I had to have a […]

  3. […] don’t consider myself especially talented, but practice can make up for that. I made my first faience pieces today, a scarab and a jackal amulet. They’re far from professional. The mix […]

Leave a Reply

