Mister Freaking Rogers

This morning I was reading Cracked as I often do. Cracked is a font of wisdom, knowledge, silliness and dick jokes, much like the Kemetic deities. This morning there was an article about Mr. Rogers. Read it, really. Bookmark it for later if you’re busy right now. For added points, read the Esquire article that was also linked there. You won’t regret it.

If you remember watching Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood while growing up, these articles can only increase your respect for the man. If you never watched the show, then it will be an education. His life was far more impressive than a simple children’s show, because he lived his beliefs, all day and every day. How many of us can say that?

You want to be a spiritual leader? Then ask yourself, WWFRD? (What Would Fred Rogers Do?)

2 thoughts on “Mister Freaking Rogers

  1. odeliaivy says:

    I haven’t thought about being a spiritual leader, but I love Mr. Rogers. When I was little I spoke to him sometimes in my dreams to gain a better understanding of things that were happening in my waking life and on television. It helped me quite a bit. Did you know he was the voice of Lady Elaine Fairchilde the scary red cheeked woman in the Land of Make Believe? KNowing that made her less scary to me.

    • shezep says:

      I don’t think I was ever scared of her, but Mr.Rogers did make something else less scary. My parents used to watch the Incredible Hulk TV show with Lou Ferrigno. I thought the Hulk was scary. Then on one episode of Mr. Rogers, they showed the actor getting all covered up in green paint. After that, I could enjoy the show.

      I’m just impressed that there’s a whole side of Mr.Rogers that we didn’t see on his show. Sometimes when you look into actors or role models you find they’re not as shiny as they appear. Mr. Rogers was even more shiny in real life. (I’ve heard that even Gandhi was hard to get along with in person.)

Leave a Reply

