Setting Up a Business

Wall relief Kom Ombo13

“May we have income and business, because the Son, the Falcon, lives here.” -Heka to Heru-sa-Aset for good business, The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook by Tamara L. Siuda

Kemeticism is not one of those religions that believes it is somehow wrong to pray for prosperity. Thank the gods for that! It is not selfish to want to support yourself, to take care of your family, or to want to have a few extra bucks left over to buy gifts for friends. You cannot give what you don’t already have. Right now, I don’t have a lot, and it’s well past time to change that. I’m not going to sit back and think happy thoughts, hoping that the Universe will provide. I’m going to set it up right and do the work. I’m going to dot the i’s and cross the T’s, getting the legal side taken care of. A Kemetic must give Ma’at her due.

That’s actually what I was out doing today. I went downtown to get my business name registered. I’m now officially Brilliant River. After that, I filled out the sales tax form and faxed it in. In two to three weeks, when the permit arrives, I’ll finally be able to list on Etsy, under that same name. Check it out! The faience looks much better now than when I started. (See Kiln! and Kiln Update for comparison. Persistence pays off!)

Lotusbeads There’s still a lot to do before I officially open. I need to stock up on ankhs and Isis knots and protection amulets. I need more Eyes too! I’m excited. This will be fun!

Anyway, that’s why S is a little late. I’ve been running around, wearing myself out, trying to get things going. If this kind of thing interests you, you can check on my progress at BrilliantRiver, which is the WordPress blog for the business. I promise I won’t keep spamming you about it here.

If you are interested in starting your own business, make sure you know what the laws are in your area. I set up an appointment with a mentor from SCORE. I highly recommend them to anyone living in the States. They are a group of retired business people who are happy to advise you, for free, about how to set up your own business, no matter what the size. You might also want to look into the SBA, though they seem more geared toward helping you get a small business loan, which can also be useful. Etsy has a long list of helpful videos for starting a home craft business like mine. (If you’re on Etsy, do watch them. Don’t be one of those people who forgets to do the math and ends up making less than minimum wage!)

Don’t be intimidated. There’s a lot of help out there. Technology has made the numbers much simpler with tax and accounting programs and online services. If it still sounds scary, remember, you don’t have to quit your day job yet. The internet makes it easy to start one or more inexpensive side projects just to see how they go. (Don’t fall for anything that shows up in your spam folder! I shouldn’t have to tell anyone that.) It’s probably easier to get started now than it ever has been before.

2 thoughts on “Setting Up a Business

  1. So what is the Kemetic equivalent of saying Amen, sister (or brother) as the case may be? Or would a simple Yea! do? 🙂

Leave a Reply

