Simplicity

There are a lot of shiny paths to pursue when it comes to religion and spirituality. There are many things that people within your own tradition will say that you should do. There are many things you may like to do. Eventually you have to face the fact that you can’t do everything and also do it well. There comes a point when you have to look admiringly at what someone else is doing, and then let it go, because your plate is already full.

It is better to do a few things well than it is to do many things badly.

Earlier this summer I had a dream that I was on a quest with a group of people. The quest was long and very dangerous. There was no guarantee of success or even survival. We stopped to rest on a trail on the side of a snowy mountain. I took the time to look at what I brought with me. There were a lot of wooden practice swords in my pack. Where I was going, I would need a real sword, and all the false swords would only slow me down. I decided to leave them behind. I shaved my head and changed my clothes. I put down as much as possible to lighten the load, including my shoes. One of the things I did bring was a large book, which was essential despite the great weight. I transformed myself into a warrior monk. At first, I worried about how my bare feet would fare in the snow, but it worked much better than expected. The lack of shoes improved my balance when we crossed over tricky rocks.

The idea of becoming a monk has always appealed to me. For some reason, I never really allow myself the freedom to drop the unessential. I feel like I have to carry it all, just in case. It is a recurring problem. I had this dream about the time that Sobek stuck me in the river, to teach me to let go. Now I feel that I’m doing it again. Maybe I’ll never learn.

What false swords are in my pack this time? Are these shoes protecting my feet, or interfering with my balance? And what is worth carrying despite the heavy cost?

6 thoughts on “Simplicity

  1. I get stuck in this at times. Especially if I am going to the forest for some quiet time. I end bringing things I don’t even need!

  2. von186 says:

    I can relate to this in many ways. I experience it in my day to day life, and due to my… “dedication” (I guess) to Kemeticism, I’ve cut a lot of other stuff out of my life to make room to do the Kemetic thing well. So I definitely think there is some truthfulness and usefulness to the notion of letting go of what you don’t need.
    If you’re doing it again, inadvertently- perhaps doing some sort of ritual to help you visualize letting go of the unnecessary would help?

    • shezep says:

      I think this is actually part of my normal yearly cycle. It’s not uncommon for me to start feeling “itchy” and wanting to “shed my skin” in the fall. It happens every year, and it annoys me every time. Sometime in the next week or so I’ll probably have to do that “pay your dues” thing you were talking about in the last post. It will probably be something crack-heavy, painful and violent that I won’t discuss in polite Kemetic company.

      Then it will be out of my system, and I can quiet down and settle in for winter. I hate winter.

  3. […] was wondering what to write about this week, mostly having no idea. Fortunately, a friend of mine wrote about Simplicity, and I thought yeah, I could write about […]

Leave a Reply

