YMMV

(This is my last PBP2013 blog post. I think I’m all caught up now. I’m surprised I kept up with it. I started last year on a whim and somehow kept them going.)

Your Mileage May Vary

In fact, it probably will. Wouldn’t it be boring if we were all the same? I don’t do the same things that others do, and they don’t do the same things that I do. I still enjoy hearing about them. I like hearing what people dig up in historical reference to ancient cultures. I enjoy hearing about the rituals and seeing the artwork. I enjoy the quiet reflective moments where it feels that I can be there right with you. I enjoy hearing the questions and uncertainties, and I feel honored that you feel comfortable enough to share those things.

Where did we get this stupid notion that we should be the same? I thought the whole point of having many gods was that one size does not fit all. Even those many gods have many aspects and many time frames and manifestations. Even if we use the same names, that doesn’t mean they have to act the same in every situation. Gods are complex beings, not paper cut outs. I sometimes believe that if I make a statement about something my gods would NEVER do, that they would take great pleasure in proving me wrong. Never say never.

I often look at spirituality as being like medicine. The right medicine can heal, but the wrong medicine can act like a poison. That’s why you should only take your own prescription and not someone else’s. And what good does it do to try to discourage another from taking the medicine that they require? Are you their doctor? The correct answer is no, you’re not. Some people need more security and stability to help them feel safe in an unsafe world. Some people need to learn how to break out of their shells and take risks. Some need to learn compassion for others, and some need to learn how to start caring for themselves before they are depleted. Everyone has preexisting conditions.

This isn’t a contest. There is no prize to be won for being the most devoted, the most magical, or the most pure. The only prize is the one you get for being the most You. I believe that everyone contains a divine spark. We’re here to nurture that spark and make it shine. It doesn’t matter how you do that. There are many gods and many spirits, and there are many forms of divinity. If you’re not sure, then go ahead and try different things until you discover what works. Don’t feel bad if something doesn’t work out the way you planned. Exploration is part of the process. We are all works in progress.

One thought on “YMMV

  1. “Don’t feel bad if something doesn’t work out the way you planned.” How very true! Some of our most interesting work over the years has come about, because things just did not follow the schedule WE had decided! There’s also those times when it appears that a magickal working or meditation has yielded no results at all….only to realise days or weeks later that the results were there alright, it just needed us to recognize them as such. Blessings of the season….SRTb

Leave a Reply

