The Voices in My Head

Or, How To Godphone

I am a skeptic. I’m also a wooist with a godphone. I don’t particularly like calling it a godphone, but the word gets us in the same ballpark quickly. This makes for some strange goings on in my head. How do I make peace between these two seemingly opposing viewpoints? If I were to answer that question as a simple how-to you might believe that I have solved the problem once and for all. It’s more like standing on a see-saw. Sometimes it tips one way and sometimes it tips the other. Sometimes I stand precariously in the middle with my arms waving around in the air. This is balance?

A reasonable person might say that I’d be better off abandoning one side or the other. I often think that reasonable people are wrong. Both sides serve a purpose. Both sides fulfill a need. I need to be grounded. I need to hold up a mirror, yardstick, or measuring tool of choice, to make sure I don’t get too lost in my wanderings. I also need magic. I don’t know why that is true, but it is. It has been true since I was little, and it is still true. Without the having the magical press in at the edges of my daily life, everything feels flat, I feel flat. Either way, I feel lost.

Do I believe in the gods? Yes. Also no. And yes. I talk to Them nearly every day, but I’m not always sure that I’m hearing correctly. I know that they don’t naturally speak English and everything is passing through my own filters. Most of the time I’m assigning words to vague impressions, feelings, images, and energy flows. How much of that is me and how much is them? Occasionally I get the “wrong note” vibe if I mess up terribly, but most of the time the subject matter is not important enough for them to bother correcting my faulty translations.

If anyone claims to have a 100% static-free godphone, my inner skeptic will raise an eyebrow and go “Uh-huh, riiight.” Maybe someone out there does have such a thing. They would truly be a rare unicorn if they did. I still probably wouldn’t believe them.

Am I making it up? Possibly. Maybe. I’m not sure. (Why should I believe you’re any different?)

For this reason, any godly messages that come through are judged based on their own merits, rather than by their source. Heck, gods can say stupid things too. Kemetics don’t believe in omniscient, omnipotent, omnibenevolent, beings. The gods might have a perspective that we lack, but even then, they’re not perfect. If it sounds like good advice, take it. If it sounds totally stupid, don’t be afraid to say so, to yourself anyway. Don’t be a dick to others. If the gods really do mean it, they will probably repeat the message, or hit you over the head for ignoring them. This is normal. I believe that the very best spirit-workers are those who are the biggest pains in the gods’ asses. At least I hope so. I know that I’m a big PITA.

For your own use, it may be helpful to try to discern which messages are important, and which are just fooling around. I give idle chatter with deities a low confidence rating. I like idle chatter because it forms more of a social bond and makes me feel more comfortable in their presence. However, it’s not really a good medium for life changing epiphanies to come through. Most of the random chatter does come from my own filters and is not important enough for them to correct any mistakes I might have made in understanding.

Other communications feel different. They hit harder and are more clear. They have an intensity to them that normal chatter doesn’t have. Occasionally, they bypass the filters and use actual English words. For me, these words come through very clearly and reverberate a little. They do this very rarely, and when they do it, there are few words. Too many words and you won’t remember later.

Most of the time, actual communications are somewhere in between those extremes. There are feelings behind the words, but the words are still run through my filters. We may go back and forth on various concepts to make sure I’m getting the right idea. Even then, I might just be getting a simplified version that is close enough for their purposes. They seem to like using analogies to explain more complicated ideas. I have to understand that it is an analogy, or a symbol, and try to get at the meaning behind it. I also understand that the more I know, the better chance they have to utilize symbols that I can comprehend. Having a godphone doesn’t mean that you don’t need to know your stuff. The more educated you are, not just in the relevant history but in many different subjects, the better your chances of getting a good interpretation.

In other words, when it comes to godphones, your own or anyone else’s, you can’t take everything literally. Questioning does not mean you lack faith in the gods themselves. It means you recognize that communications with deities isn’t perfect. Humans aren’t perfect, and neither are gods. Translation errors can, and do, creep in. Common sense is still required.

5 thoughts on “The Voices in My Head

  1. This post is so very appreciated and is extremely helpful in it’s candor.

  2. Tea Bird says:

    Firstly, excellent post! It’s always interesting to hear different people talking about their ‘godphones’. It’s especially difficult to balance said communications with a healthy dose of skepticism.

    Secondly, I was directed over here by Devo [the Twisted Rope] in regards to seeking some help. I’m looking for basically any/all information on Montu and they thought that, as someone who works with Ra and Heru, that you might know of Him a bit?

    My apologies for asking in a comment, I haven’t figured out if WP has a messaging system yet.

    Cheers!
    -TBird

    • shezep says:

      I don’t know much more about him than what you’d find from a web search, which I assume you’ve done already. I have met him, but I haven’t spent a lot of time with him. From a UPG standpoint, he has more of a wild predatory bird vibe to him than Heru or Ra. Heru can be a wild bird too, but fretting over politics can get in the way of that. Ra is more of an abstract force of nature, who can be a bit authoritarian, than an actual bird. I think Montu could teach Heru a thing or two about relaxing a bit and letting the bird out. Montu-Ra sounds like a scary combination. “Destructive force of the sun,” indeed. Also, bulls. I didn’t really see the bull side.

  3. […] wrote about this one recently in The Voices In My Head which talks about how to balance deific communications versus natural skepticism, and how to try to […]

Leave a Reply

